Suryakumar Yadav replaces injured KL Rahul in India squad for 2-Test series vs New Zealand

YB WEB DESK. Dated: 11/24/2021 1:40:50 PM

New Delhi, Nov 23 India's in-form opener KL Rahul has sustained a muscle strain on his left thigh and has been ruled out of the upcoming 2- match Test series against New Zealand. Suryakumar Yadav has been added as a replacement for Rahul. "He will now undergo rehabilitation at NCA in preparation for the series against South Africa scheduled next month. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Mr. Suryakumar Yadav as KL Rahul’s replacement. The first Test between India and New Zealand begins on 25th November 2021 in Kanpur," the BCCI statement read. With Rohit Sharma rested for the Test series, Ajinkya Rahane-led India will be forced to field Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal as the openers. Along with Rohit, Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, as well as regular Test captain Virat Kohli, have been rested. It is understood that one of them, Shreyas Iyer or Suryakumar Yadav, will make his Test debut and bat in the middle order. Shubhman was expected to bat in the middle order but now, in the absence of Rahul, the youngster will be asked to play in his usual opening slot. The upcoming Test series against New Zealand will be part of the World Test Championship (WTC) 2021-23 cycle. This year, in the month of June, the two teams met each other in the WTC Final (2019-2021), where the Kiwis claimed the title, winning by eight wickets. India’s Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vicecaptain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna


Face to Face

Face To Face With Atul Kumar Goel (IPS) DIG, Jammu-Samba-Kathua Range J&K... Read More





Daily horoscope