Jadeja out or not out? Michael Hussey reacts to ‘obstructing field’ dismissal

YB WEB DESK. Dated: 5/14/2024 9:33:42 AM

London, May 13 CSK all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was given out by the umpire due to obstructing the field on Sunday, 12 May. Jadeja, while batting in the 16th over against RR got hit by a throw from Sanju Samson when the opposition captain was trying to run him out in the non-striker's end. The replays were closely examined and the third umpire made the conclusion that Jadeja had seen the direction of the ball and would run in a manner to protect the stumps. The decision on the big screen was out which stunned Jadeja and the CSK fans inside the stadium. CSK batting coach Mike Hussey reacted to the incident after the match and remained neutral. Hussey said that he understood both sides of the argument, from, RR and Jadeja, but was unsure about the call that the umpire made. "Well, I have only had time to have a quick look at it during the game. I didn't have a close look at it. He did try and turn around, so I guess that's changing the angle. But he didn't try and change angle while he was running back. I can see both sides of the story. I can see a story where he had to turn around, so he changed his angle a little bit. But he didn't try and change direction while he was running back. I can understand, the umpire has made his decision. The rule says you can't change your direction. Maybe it was a fair call. I am not sure," Mike Hussey said at the press conference after the match. This is not the first time that Jadeja has been found obstructing the field this season. Against SRH in Hyderabad Jadeja did something similar and was struck by Bhuvneshwar Kumar on the back while trying to get back to his crease. In that game, Pat Cummins chose not to appeal against Jadeja, who was not looking.


Face to Face

Face To Face With Atul Kumar Goel (IPS) DIG, Jammu-Samba-Kathua Range J&K... Read More





Daily horoscope